LUMIN A1 Reviews

The Audiophile Network Music Player

Lumin: The Audiophile Network Media Player streamer

LUMIN A1 Reviews

The Absolute Sound Golden Ear Award 2015

The Absolute Sound

Golden Ear Awards 2015

The Absolute Sound have awarded LUMIN A1 a prestigious Golden Ear Award.

In the review and the 2015 Awards issue Neil Gader writes

I haven’t been shy about expressing my reservations about computer audio—mostly it seems like too much work, and IMHO is a totally unsexy way to enjoy music. However, by mostly (not entirely) eliminating the need for a computer, the Lumin A-1 player has proven to be the exception.
Operating wirelessly through its own graphically superb iPad app, the A1 releases the reins of sonic tension and dryness that constrain many digital recordings, adding warmth and weightier presence even to mundane 16-bit/44kHz recordings.
I’ve also noted over the months that Lumin makes sure its products are well supported with regular software and firmware updates, and, most recently, Tidal support. It’s so good that it’s the “computer” I’ve come to accept as a high-end source component.

TAS-award

The Absolute Sound

December 2014 and Awards issue

US magazine The Absolute Sound have reviewed LUMIN A1 in issue #248 and awarded it "UPPER-END MUSIC SERVER OF THE YEAR 2014" in their awards issue #249.

In the review and the Awards issue Neil Gader writes

Had I not known better, I would have sworn I was listening to mastertapes.”
It was an impression of resolution, soundstage integrity, and clean transient speed...
...reaching a level of musicality that will make even diehard analog fans forget its computer roots.

HiFi Voice LUMIN A1 Award

Hi-Fi Voice

2014 Awards

Product of the Year 2014

Czech Republic Magazine Hi-Fi Voice have published their "Product of the Year 2014" awards.LUMIN A1 won in the category of Digital Media Player

Over 3000 votes were cast in their annual awards poll.

The editor commented on the award

...quality is no longer reserved for ultra-expensive devices, but now gets into affordable levels. By far the biggest hit last year became Lumin

Hi-Fi Philosophy LUMIN A1 review

HiFi Philosophy

June 2014

Polish website HiFi Philosophy have published their comprehensive LUMIN A1 review

During the 6-page review, Piotr Ryka says:

...for twenty-five thousand ...offers highest quality music, previously heard only with devices that cost somewhere around sixty thousands or more.
Bass hit like a large cannon, and from the analog, fully admirable sound, waves of satisfaction were flowing to the listener.
Lumin is a high-end player of the highest grade.
Yes, this is it!

Hi-Fi+ Magazine

Hi-Fi+

March 2014

UK magazine Hi-Fi+ have reviewed LUMIN in the March 2014 issue #109.

Ed Selly writes

The more time you spend with the LUMIN, the more it becomes clear that the strong performance with a wide variety of material, the extremely well thought out app, and the very handsome appearance combine to make the LUMIN a very enticing buy and one that should work well in a variety of systems.

Hi-fi World 5 Globe review

Hi-Fi World

March 2014

UK magazine Hi-Fi World have reviewed LUMIN in the March 2014 issue.

Jon Myles awards LUMIN Five Globes (Outstanding – amongst the best) and during the review states:

...the app is one of the best out there on any streamer I’ve used so far.
Its sound is crisp, clear and detailed with an engaging sense of timing that draws the best from the music.

What Hi-Fi? Sound and Vision

What Hi-Fi?

February 2014

UK magazine What Hi-Fi? have published their magazine review online

During the review they write:

...when the music becomes complex, and the streamer impresses with its ability to keep instrumental strands separate and easy to follow.
There’s a consistency of character throughout the range that’s a real pleasure to hear.

Magazyn Audiostereo

Audiostereo

February 2014

Polish website AudioStereo have published a LUMIN review.

During the very positive review, Krzysztof Kalinkowski states:

Each recording was so absorbing, that I did not want to interrupt any album I listened to from beginning to end.
This is the most analogue digital player I have listened to

Audioshark

Audioshark

December 2013

Mike Bovaird, founder of the Audioshark Forums Has published his review of LUMIN

After intense listening over a few days, Mike decided he liked LUMIN so much he didn't want to let it go and purchased the review unit.

During the review he writes:

...in my opinion it stands up to all comers. I spent many hours listening to the Lumin and every time found my toes tapping.
I’ve played the saxophone for over 30 years and at the end of my listening sessions, I found the Lumin sounded more like music and less like computer!

Audiostream Review - Greatest Bits

Audiostream

December 2013

AudioStream have published their LUMIN review. During the review Michael Lavorgna states:

I was nothing but impressed with the Lumin Network Player and it strikes me as a well-conceived and very well executed product. Not only does it sound wonderful but the Lumin app is a pleasure to use and everything worked without incident with PCM, DXD, and 64x DSD sources.
Positive Feedback Review

Positive Feedback

November 2013

DSD proponents Positive Feedback have published an English translation of the Polish High Fidelity LUMIN review by Wojciech Pacuła.

It also features a brief interview with Product Development Manager Li On.

Wojciech gives LUMIN the Red Fingerprint Award and describes LUMIN as:

a very successful, fantastically executed and very, very natural approach to musical material

there is almost no escaping the word 'beautiful' while listening to the Lumïn
Those who have created the Lumïn demonstrated their outstanding sensitivity and ear for music.
Qobuz Review

Qobuz

November 2013

French HD Music website Qobuz have put LUMIN through their Test Bench and have deemed it worthy of their 'Qobuzissime' award.

Un Qobuzissime incontestable
Soundrebels

Soundrebels (Poland)

October 2013

Polish website Soundrebels have published their LUMIN review in Polish and English.

During their review they say:

Overall the sound was incredibly coherent, homogeneous and most of all natural.
Lumin made me re-define my own understanding of resolution. And I hope it will do the same for you.

HifiClube (portugal)

HifiClube (Portugal)

September 2013

Portugese website hificlube.net have published their 3-part review of LUMIN.

In the review they described LUMIN as:

clean, modern lines, solid construction, advanced digital technology and sound that is absolutely... analog!

Computer Audiophile CASH award

Computer Audiophile

August 2013

Computer Audiophile have published their review of LUMIN and added it to their 'CASH' Computer Audiophile Suggested Hardware list.

In the review they described LUMIN as:

the network player by which all others should be judged.
the most polished network player I've ever used.

6moons Lunar Eclipse Award

6Moons

March 2013

6moons have reviewed Lumin and awarded it their highest award, the rare "Lunar Eclipse Award".

During the review Joël Chevassus described Lumin as

my new digital reference
the most exciting audio experience I've yet had